Daily Meditations

…and in his law doth he meditate day and night.

I Don’t Know about Tomorrow

on March 13, 2014
Ira Stanphill was a Christian song writer and itinerant preacher during the 1950’s.   The song, “I know who holds tomorrow” and We’ll talk it over” were written during a very difficult time in Ira’s life. His wife was  an excellent singer. However, she felt the ministry that Ira was in was not for her and decided to enter the world of entertainment and left Ira to follow her dreams as a celebrity.  Unfortunately her sweet life was quickly cut short when she was involved in a …car accident. The two songs reflect some of the deep hurt and questioning that Ira was feeling immediately after this happened. Life is fleeting indeed. 
I don’t know about tomorrow; I just live from day to day.
I don’t borrow from its sunshine For its skies may turn to grey.
I don’t worry o’er the future, For I know what Jesus said.
And today I’ll walk beside Him, For He knows what lies ahead.
Many things about tomorrow   I don’t seem to understand  
But I know who holds tomorrow   And I know who holds my hand.

Leave a comment